Goals

I have worked out off and on over the last few years, but I have never had any true goals. I can tell I have gained a little extra weight or my pants are starting to get a little tighter. This leads me to start working out again but within a few weeks I stop. I lose my motivation pretty quick once I lose the extra pounds I have gained. There is a laundry list of reasons why that may be and would take forever and a day to go through. All I know is that my current goals need to be more specific, attainable, but challenge me at the same time. I have heard that if you write down and can view your goals regularly that you are more likely to achieve them.

Below are my goals for when I finish my 5 week program.

1. I want to lose between 6 to 9 pounds. That would mean my weight would be somewhere between 166 to 163 pounds.

2. To lose one pants size. I am currently barely not able to fit into my 32s so I figure I am around a 34 waist now.

You shouldn’t only use a scale number as a way to measure your health. I mentioned in an earlier blog that I had jeans I could no longer fit it, so one of my goals is to fit into those two pairs of jeans without any issues in 5 weeks, but it would be nice if I could fit into them sooner.

3. To have more endurance/energy.

I have a nephew that turned 9 months recently, and that means he will be walking soon. The baby already can wear me out and he can only crawl right now. I keep thinking it will only be worse when he starts walking, and then he will want to start playing around or go to the park. I want to be able to keep up with him somewhat. Right now if I had to run 50 feet I would be completely spent, which really makes me sad being a former basketball player who was known for my second wind. When I was 16-18 years old I could play basketball for 2-4 hours, then go home, eat a little, take a shower, and go hang out with my friends until 11-12. If I did that now I couldn’t get up for a week.

4. I took a Fitness Test before I started my workout program, and I was not pleased with myself. I want to be able to double my results when I retake the Fitness Test after the 5 week program. ( I will talk more about the Fitness Test in another Blog)

5. My Senior year of college I started running and really enjoyed it. I got to the point where I ran a 5K in 2009. Shortly after that 5K I injured both legs, so running any sort of distance has not been an option for me. I am hoping after this program I can slowly get back into running, but first I got to get my body back in shape.

Above are all my short term goals but I have a couple of long term goals.

6. After this program I want to keep working out.

7. I have a pair or Wrangler jeans that I would really like to be able to wear with my boots during the Fall and Winter months.

19 thoughts on “Goals

  1. Although I think it’s great that you have made a conscious decision to get fit and have set realistic goals that you would like to see come to fruition, I believe your goals may be slightly misplaced. Your most detailed goals revolve around specific achievements that are finite. I believe the most important goal that you have listed is the one you provided the least detail for. “6. After this program I want to keep working out.” If you really want to sustain your goals, I think that you need to fill out this idea to prevent you from achieving your other goals temporarily and then arriving back at where you started. It’s easy to think “well this sucks but it’s only 5 weeks and then I’ll figure it out from there.” It’s a lot more daunting to think “well I don’t really like this but this is life from now on, forever.” To truly be fit and make your gains worthwhile, a way to sustain your activity for the long term is critical. It doesn’t necessarily need to be nearly as intense or structured as what you are doing now, since those programs can be nearly impossible for the average person to stick to long term. Your running goals are actually a great indication that you have given some good thought to after your program is finished so move those into the long term goals as well. Change isn’t real if it’s temporary. I look forward to a blog post which is more geared towards your plan for long term health and fitness. Keep up the good work and good luck man.

    • Hello James,

      I appreciate you taking the time to look over my goals and provide feedback. It helps at times to have an un-bias third party, because they can see things from a bigger picture. I cannot give you an exact reason why I didn’t go into more detail for Goal #6. In part I am more focused on the short term goals I listed, and I want my attention to be put on them as much as possible. When I wrote this I hadn’t even started my 5 week program, and I figured I would figure out want to do next when I completed the 5 week program. However, now I can see how my goals look more like a temporary fix compared to long term changes.

      You make a great point that I should have thought about my long term goals a tad more and gone into more detail. I agree I should move my running goals to my long term goals. Now that I have started the fourth week of the current program I am on, I have started to think more and more about what I plan to do next. However, it would have helped had I given it more thought originally. You live and you learn as they say!

      Again thanks for your time and feedback. I can use it when I update my goals, which will probably happen after I finish the current 5 week program I am on. When that post comes out please let me know your thoughts on it or any other post of mine. Have a great day mate!

      Jared

      • Hey Jared,

        I wouldn’t think about what you should have done, just think about what you can do now. I think your 5 week program is a great start but it might be best to start thinking about long term goals before you finish the program. If you wait until you actually finish it, you could lose sight of your goals and get off track again therefore causing you to start from square 1. I think the most important thing to realize is that whatever you do, you shouldn’t think of it as a week-to-week program. You might incorporate some programs into your lifestyle but don’t think of your fitness with a deadline. Hope this helps, best of luck!

      • Wow, that is a lot of good advice, and thank you for your time. I will spend some time this weekend thinking about what to do after my current 5 week program is over, and think in more detail about my long term goals.

        I guess I really want to stay in the moment and not look to far ahead, so I don’t get frustrated and quit. However, I don’t want to end up back at square one, and if I don’t do some prep work now, that could happen.

        “Fitness with a deadline” is a great, great point and maybe that is what James was trying to get at with his comments. That makes a lot of sense and I agree with you 100%!

        Again, I appreciate your time and will put it to use. Have a great Saturday!!

        Jared

    • Thanks!! I wanted to challenge myself, but at the same time I think it is important to set realistic goals. It is all about creating a good base early on.

      The food/nutrition part has been a little tough, and I am going to have to start focusing even more on that. I appreciate the words of encouragement and if I stay with it, I will get there!!

Leave a Reply

