Week 3 Workout # 10 – Cardio and what turned out to be a great Leg Workout!!!

After a day of rest I did another day of Cardio. Since the workout I did Wednesday was as intense as it was, I decided to do it again. It once again was intense but having gone through it before helped since I was more familiar with all the exercises. Now and then I had to take a break to catch my breath, but I pushed myself as much as I could while still keeping good form.

After I completed that routine I wanted to do it again, because 15 minutes didn’t seem long enough. Plus, I had two Dr Pepper’s, so I needed to put in the extra time. My right knee was bothering me a tad, so I decided to do an 8 minute routine from the website I use (benderfitness.com), and boy it was no joke. It turned out to be an incredible lower body workout, and my legs were feeling it, especially my hamstrings.

The last set of exercises I did didn’t seem to work my upper body, so I did reps of 10 of two different upper body exercises. Parts 1 and 2 of my workout were interval style workouts; I did maximum reps for 50 seconds, with 10 seconds of rest between exercises.

By the end of the workout I was sweaty from head to toe and despite my legs feeling like Jello, I was happy I put in the extra work. I did stretched a lot longer than normal, and busted out my trusty Foam-Roller and that helped a ton. Otherwise I don’t think I could have gotten out of bed as easy this morning. We have stairs so I have felt the workout going up and down them, but the soreness is all good. You want to be sore but not hurting.

I usually don’t drink protein shakes because right now I am not doing a lot of intense lifting, but decided to last night since my legs were feeling it. I think that helped ease some of the soreness as well.

We had a great rain yesterday and it feels great outside. It is 75 degrees, so I might go for a short walk to loosen up my legs.

I hope you all have a wonderful Saturday and here is my workout from yesterday.

Part – 1

15 Minute High Intensity Workout

All Levels: Do the maximum number of reps you can for each exercise in 50 seconds. You get 10 seconds to rest in between each exercise. 

Warm- Up

  1. High Knees
  2. Pushup with knee
  3. Jumping jacks
  4. Boat with scissor
  5. Burpees
  6. Heel tap abs
  7. Squat jump
  8. Elbow tap abs
  9. Warrior 3 squat switch
  10. Ab with hip lift ( I did a little better on these but they still kicked my butt )
  11. Jump Kick (right)
  12. Jump Kick (left)
  13. Mountain Climber
  14. Cross Boat Reach
  15. Surfer ( my right knee was bothering me a bit so I really paced myself while doing this exercise )

I took a few minutes to rest and got a drink of water before I started part 2.

Part – 2

1. Heel Touch Squat Jump (first time doing this exercise )
2. High Knees
3. Forward Lunge Lift (right)
4. Mountain Climber
5. Forward Lunge Lift (left)
6. Lunge Pulse (right) (I felt this one)
7. Russian Kick Up
8. Lunge Pulse (left)   (again I felt this one)

As I mentioned earlier I did two exercises that focused more on my Upper Body. I did ten reps of each.

1. Pushup with knee
2. Burpees

Stretch ( much longer than normal and used my Foam Roller )

 

Here are the links for the workouts and the Warm-Up and Stretch are not shown in the video. I do my own of each.

Part – 1 ( http://www.benderfitness.com/2012/01/15-minute-high-intensity-full-length.html )

Part – 2 ( http://www.benderfitness.com/2012/06/intense-8-minute-cardio-fat-stripper.html )

2 thoughts on “Week 3 Workout # 10 – Cardio and what turned out to be a great Leg Workout!!!

Leave a Reply

