Week 4 Workout #14 – Finally back at it

After my workout Friday, I was thinking about doing a light cardio workout Saturday, but woke up Saturday and didn’t feel all that well, so I just took it easy. Sunday I woke up still not feeling that great, and my right hip/lower back was stiff as a board. Which meant my workout for Sunday was out the window. I got up; stretched, busted on my trusty foam roller (I recommend anyone who doesn’t have one to buy one), and went for a walk around the block to stretch it out and get it moving again per my sister-in-laws recommendation. This all helped, but it still didn’t feel great. I think all that laying around on Saturday didn’t do me a lot of good.

At first I was pretty down about it. I kept thinking here is when my fitness journey comes to an end, and I was thinking/expecting the worst. However, I thought about all the blogs I have seen over the last month where people talked about situations, injuries, and other issues they had overcome. I found strength in that, and it helped get my mind right. I realized this wasn’t a long term stoppage but a minor bump in the road.

I have really enjoyed blogging and the whole experience has been a blessing. It is such a warm, friendly, and open environment. I have met such great people, that otherwise I never would have come into contact with. I am glad I am blogging, and it would be nice if Facebook was as up-beat as blogging is. I hardly check my Facebook page since I have started my blog…..okay; I am getting off topic………………..

Monday I was still not 100%, but I could tell things were beginning to loosen up, and Tuesday I had a lot of errands to do. I woke up Wednesday and I could tell even at work I was able to walk like I normally do, and my legs were braking at me to do some type of exercise when I got home. I thought about taking another day off, but decided when I got home I would do at least one round of my next routine and go from there.

I didn’t want to do anything that would put extra stress on my legs, like High-Knees, Mountain Climbers, and so forth. I found a great Full-Body workout, but nothing that stressed my hip/legs too much. I ended up doing two rounds and that was probably one round too much. I feel good today, but have some areas that need attention when I get home. I plan on stretching and using the foam roller when I get home.

I would like to get a workout in tomorrow, but we will see how things go. The one thing I have learned from all this is I probably need to use the foam roller at least 2-3 times a week, and not wait until I need to use it. Be proactive. Also, it may not be a bad thing to have a stretch routine that I do on my rest days. Or I might try to start doing yoga once a week.

Alright, enough of my rambling, here is my workout from yesterday. Enjoy the rest of your Thursday and please say a pray for my Texas Longhorns to win tonight!!!! Hook’em!!! 

Repeat 1-3X

Warm-up

1. Lunge Curl (alternate legs)
2. Plank Lift
3. Side Plank Hip Drop (right)
4. Side Plank Hip Drop (left)
5. Heel Tap Abs or Leg Lift Abs
6. Hip Press
7. Leg Series (right)
8. Leg Series (left)
9. Sumo Pushups
10. Bicycle Abs

Stretch

Here is the link for the workout, and the Warm-Up and Stretch are not shown in the video. I do my own of each ( http://www.benderfitness.com/2013/01/fitness-transformation-workout-2.html )

3 thoughts on “Week 4 Workout #14 – Finally back at it

  1. It’s definitely discouraging when you have an injury, but you can’t tell yourself that it’s over! I had an ongoing hip injury in the past when I used to run track and I was certain I wouldn’t be able to run competitively again. Well, I started doing exercises to strengthen it, and I haven’t had issues since!! Now I am running again 🙂 Oftentimes the hardest part is actually getting back to the gym!

    • Okay, I rethought my question and it is much more direct now. I have had ITBS/hip issues for a few years now, and was wondering if you thought a chiropractor or an orthopedic might be able to help with my issue/s?

  2. Thanks for the advice!! I have had hip/IT band issues since March/April of 2009, and haven’t been able to run any sort of distance since then. It took me a long, long time to let running go. What stinks about this recent injury is that I was stoked about how much better my hip/IT band issues had been since I started working out. I was thinking I could possibly try very slowly to start running again, but with this set back I am not sure that will happen anytime soon.

    If you don’t mind could you go into more detail into your hip situation? What was the process like and anything else you can tell me I would appreciate

    Thanks for your time.
    Jared

Leave a Reply

